fscnc

My trusted friend,

I hope this letter reaches you in good health. It has been so long since we last wrote and I am happy to hear of your success in Turkey. That you should get wind of The Device was a little surprising, yet what can elude you? I received your telegram not a day ago and immediately began writing my reply the moment I was met with a window of free time. I hope this answers all your questions:

It is indeed hard to comprehend but I shall attempt to describe the fascinating invention of Dr. Frank Oumvach, before the unfortunate Fire wiped everything away, including blueprints and the inventor himself.

As we all know, language acts as a limitation to thought. An irony, yes, but very true. Dr Oumvach was an extremely ambitious person who constantly challenged to improve himself and the world around him, so it came as no surprise to everyone when he proposed his device: a device to block out the linguistic faculties of our Brain, completely numbing the rest of the brain to its existence. What he hypothesized was that when the Brain forgot about that part, the freed up ‘resources’ could then be redistributed to other parts of the brain. In addition, he postulated that there existed another ‘plane of thought or existence’, one where ideas manifested as purely ideas; free from the shackles of words, yet free to morph into imagery.

It took much time (and a few accidents) but in the end he got the machine to work! The only unfortunate thing is that the Fire happened just after the completion of the first test.

I remember vividly how Dr. Oumvach yelled his experience to me, shared his thoughts and as much details as he could, as we crawled, coughing, through smoke and heat to get to freedom. In my fright and panic I could not help but feel so amazed at his dedication to his work.

Alas he was struck by a falling banister which ended his brilliant life. It was at that moment that I swore to bring all the information he had left me with, out to the world, and do my very best to reconstruct his device.

It has been a year now and progress is slow… that is, until I went back to the old mansion. As I walked carefully through what remained of the building, I came upon that very spot where he had died. I did not recognize it all at once, but there it was, I was sure of it.

I was so sure because I heard my name being whispered, yet there was no one around. At the same time it was unmistakable, the pronunciation of my name, that could only have come from the tongue of Dr. Oumvach. Yet how was that possible?!

I was terrified yet excited and after steadying my nerves, approached the spot again. There it was! My name! I heard it so clearly.

‘…Dr. Oumvach?’ I tested

‘Good! Quick…lab,’ came the reply.

I had no reason to hang around so I made my way there as fast as I could.

And there it was, in the darkness of the basement, a whisper. Like I said, language is extremely limiting, and you now have the unfortunate position of being the recipient of an incomplete idea transmitted through the written word. I cannot think of any other way to describe it, except that I saw a whisper.

I approached it, and it ‘spoke’.

It was Dr. Oumvach… or at least a part of his mind. I use the word ‘spoke’ loosely because there were no words, rather immediate understanding as I stood there waiting. I was made to understand that the device had unbound the ‘essence’ of his mind. Free from dependancy on his body, it attached itself to the fabric of that spot of space, to remain coherent. And from that spot it could reach out weakly to nearby areas, influence the minds of creatures around, but ultimately, could only Understood minds when they were near enough.

Yes, I have decided to call that process Understooding, as I find no better way to represent that amazing phenomena.

Barely five minutes had passed and I was equipped with the knowledge needed to reconstruct the device.

By the time this letter reaches you I should be ready to begin the first phase of tests. I apologize if my writing began to sound hasty towards the end, but I have just been summoned back to the lab; a component has failed and although a minor setback, I cannot help but feel anxious. I am extremely eager to complete rebuilding the Device and I think our years of friendship leaves you not at all clueless as to how I tick.

I really hope you can make it here soon, there will be much to discuss and more discoveries to be made.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours always,

Krem Schteinger

Tagged

Leave a Reply

