thycmfrmnwhrndwllgnwhr

Need goat meat in a rush or can’t afford to go down to the store yourself? Call us now for fast delivery at reasonable prices. We really put the GO in GOAT!

*

I stepped into the room and the stench of his smell hit me; he’d been here. I’d recognize his stink anywhere. For a moment I felt a wave of disgust and anger course through me as I came to the realization that I will forever associate that smell with a person I was hunting down to kill. Ergh…

*

I stood at his desk with my head down, the report on his table between us seemingly weighing down upon me. It almost felt like I had to apologize but truth be told I had nothing to say. The least I could do was look remorseful.

My boss calmly lit a cigarette and took his first drag. He looked me over plainly and said, ‘You’re a mistake I had to make. I hold nothing against you for that. This incident has cost us a lot but we’ve learnt even more. I’m not sure the rest of the company is so eager to look on the bright side so I’ll save you their nasty tongues and tell you myself to please pack your things and leave. You will receive compensation for the work you’ve done so far. I hope you find another job soon.’

I turned to leave.

‘And Cody… Try not to mess up at your next job,’ was the last sincere thing he had to say to me.

As I walked out to my cubicle I wondered greyly when this would all end. This job I had was starting to take a toll on me, what with the number of people I had to disappoint and corporations I had to deal a blow to. I wasn’t so sure anymore I was doing the right thing but a fat paycheck waited for me and that keeps me going. It has been, after all, for the last 25 years.

*

I didn’t have to get angry or say anything because I knew without a doubt their guilt would come back to haunt them. It was a torment they threw upon themselves in their anger and arrogance. I was just a bystander; nothing more, never was and never will be.

*

I glanced surreptitiously at the clock as I made to admire the surroundings. He must’ve known what I was doing because, well, the room was bare and the window overlooked a field.

‘My dear brother I have kept you long enough what with my lengthy speech and overabundance of words,’

That wasn’t true. I’d been the one spilling my guts to him and he’d listen patiently before calmly and slowly asking more questions or releasing forth a river of wisdom that washed me of some anguish and left me thinking.

‘You must be tired,’

I was, and restless. He’d been still – so still – the entire time. But somehow I just wanted to GET OUT.

‘Well thank you for your time, good Sir. I uh… Thanks for the advice and uh… take care of yourself. I’ll show myself out,’ I said without really looking at him. I got to my feet quite hurriedly and walked briskly out.

As I made my way to the car I stretched and moved my limbs. It had been so frustrating sitting down on the floor like that for so long. I mean yeah I got a chance to share some serious grievances and whatnot but man did he have to be so still and calm??

It actually annoyed me a little. How cold he be so calm?!

And yet I found myself drawn to his presence; the stillness of his person, the strength I felt emanating effortlessly from him.

And strangely I found myself looking forward to the next time I’d meet him, and I was already ahead of myself with my planner out, looking for a blank slot to squeeze at least a short meeting in.

Crap. I was going to be late for a meeting with a client. I got in the car and in a practiced rush started the engine and gunned out of the lot whilst fastening my seatbelt and glancing at the mirror to make sure my hair looked alright.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

